WhatsApp’s New, Scary Privacy Policy Explained
Category: Technology
whatsapps-new-scary-privacy-policy-explained_kuwait
Immigrate to Canada or Australia
Study In Abroad

WhatsApp has recently updated its privacy policy and terms of service, expanding how the messaging platform will share user data with other Facebook-owned and third-party apps.

WhatsApp’s New, Scary Privacy Policy Explained

Strangest part is, The update comes with a condition that if the user refuses to share data with Facebook, they will have to quit WhatsApp. 

The new terms of service are set to take effect a month from now, on February 8.

Meaning, Users have till February 8, 2021 to accept these in order to continue using the platform.

Users who accept the Terms and Privacy Policy will have an additional 30 days to make this choice, it added.

WhatsApp’s New, Scary Privacy Policy Explained

Changes in WhatsApp privacy policy:

Earlier:

‘Respect for your privacy is coded into our DNA. Since we started WhatsApp, we’ve aspired to build our Services with a set of strong privacy principles in mind.’ were the lines written in WhatsApp’s private policy

Now:

These lines are not part of the policy.

However, WhatsApp stays end-to-end encrypted. Which means it can’t see your messages, or share it with anyone.

Changes in WhatsApp privacy policy:  Earlier:  ‘Respect for your privacy is coded into our DNA. Since we started WhatsApp, we’ve aspired to build our Services with a set of strong privacy principles in mind.’ were the lines written in WhatsApp’s private policy  Now:  These lines are not part of the policy.  However, WhatsApp stays end-to-end encrypted. Which means it can’t see your messages, or share it with anyone.

What are the important changes:

WhatsApp has finally mentioned that, the information exchange will include to improve “relevant offers and ads across the Facebook Company Products.”

WhatsApp will now collect your:

Phone model, OS, Battery status (yes!), Signal strength, Time zone, IP Address, WhatsApp usage, Payments and transactions, Status updates, Group details, Profile pictures, and About info.

WhatsApp’s New, Scary Privacy Policy Explained

That’s a lot of things.

Policy update on even deleting your WhatsApp account:

You can’t even delete the app once and for all and stop worrying about it.

The new privacy policy highlights that if someone only deletes the WhatsApp app from their device without using the in-app delete my account feature, 

Then that user’s information will remain stored with the platform. So just deleting the app from your phone won’t be enough. You have to delete your account if you do not want to give your private information to WhatsApp.

09 Jan, 2021 3813
Posted Comments
FEEDBACK
@ www.kuwaitlocal.com All Rights Reserved
@ www.kuwaitlocal.com All Rights Reserved